Farewell and Homecoming


My visit and stay in Poland is coming to a close. Four months, 121 days, seemed to be flying fast. In a few days’ time, I’ll be flying back home to family and friends and tanahair, my beloved motherland.

The feeling of coming home to the embrace of the loved ones is thrilling, but bidding farewell to those who have been with me in these wonderful past four months is hard. I have made new acquaintances and friends, I’ve gained new insights and experiences that forever are going to enrich my life, and I am thankful for all that.

The farewell party given by H.E. Ambassador Dharmansjah Djumala and attended by most students at his official residence last night was in itself a memorable event. I thank him for his generosity in welcoming us to his residence and for the hospitality and the authentic Indonesian foods and atmosphere. I am touched by the students’ enthusiasm and genuine appreciation of our work throughout the months I spent with them teaching Indonesian and Indonesian culture. I thank them for the gifts and souvenirs they gave me, but more than that I value their friendship and interests in Indonesia.

I’ll be home in a few days’ time, but the memories and friendship I made here will stay with me all my life.

Thank you all.

Thank you for reading. I'd love to hear from you.

