Questioning Faith


Believers don’t question God. What He says, what He does are out of questions. They are His absolute prerogatives. He is, after all, the Creator and the Master who knows all and holds all unchallenged powers. That is how some of us believe and perceive God.

Questioning God’s words and deeds is, therefore, a heresy. To many, it is considered to be a serious sin. Believers don’t question God; those who do are non-believers. To believe in God means to submit oneself totally and unquestioningly to Him and His wishes. We are the slaves, He is the Master. We beg, He gives.

But is God really as cold as that? Is He really a one-way Communicator who accepts prayers and praises but rejects and would not allow any ‘offensive questions’ and refuses all kinds of ‘unnecessary dialogues’ with His creatures?

To me, a cold god is unimaginable. Those who believe in such a god is even more unimaginable. They must be either an angel (who, we are told, has only a singular mind about everything and, therefore, unquestioning obedience to God) or a mindless and even, perhaps, an inanimate being to be able to believe in a god whose existence, words, and deeds they cannot question; a distant god who refuses to have any dialogues whatsoever with His creatures.

How should we know God without contemplation (asking questions [about His essence, His words and deeds], having dialogues [with ourselves and the created universe/other creatures], and thinking dialectically)? If He is The All Knowing and the only facilities we have been given to get to know Him is our own thoughts and imaginations, then I think He would gladly allow us and even encourage us to use those facilities to get to know Him.

Asking questions about God (including His words and deeds) is therefore, in my opinion, an essential part of our faith. It is our dialogues with Him; our attempts to get to know and approach Him. I believe — as the faithful many do — that He is the Unknowable. We will never get to know Him completely. His greatness is simply beyond what our faculties are equipped to learn. But through contemplation, at least, we are constantly trying to get in touch with Him. It is in the dynamic question and answer sessions of contemplation that we maintain and grow our faith. Therefore, those who never ask questions, those who never have a pull-and-push relationship with God, is probably a godless person, a non-believer who pretends to be a believer, or (hypothetically) a person who has access to God like no other humans do.

Wallahu a’lam bishawab.

4 pemikiran pada “Questioning Faith

  1. Sir, I have sort of the same thought, currently especially when I saw people hurt the other, who are different with them, in the name of God. Some people and sites pointed out the issue about conspiracy which made us always feel insecure to unify with people, who according to the such narrative, always have bad intention to us (a particular community). That is considered as ‘uncommon’ to not to believe in this part.

    Then I decide not to believe in something I haven’t proven myself. In one side, I don’t want to let myself being a hatred over something that I don’t understand. in another side, I feel very bad at first to not to belief in something which, according to them, I should believe. But, later I found out that the one who directed me to have this understanding is God. I feel better after realizing that.

    In the end, I’m just hoping His guidance to direct me to an understanding which made me more loved by Him. If what I am thinking is making Him dissapointed, I hope He will give me ways to redefine it.

    Thank you so much for your sharing, Sir.🙂

  2. ally when I saw people hurt the other, who are different with them, in the name of God. Some people and sites pointed out the issue about conspiracy which made us always feel insecure to unify with people, who according to the such narrative, always have bad intention to us (a particular community).
    Then I decide not to believe in something I haven’t proven myself.
    In one side, I don’t want to let myself being a hatred over something that I don’t understand. I feel very bad at first to not to belief in something which, according to them, I should believe. But, later I found out that the one who directed me to have this understanding is God. I feel better after realizing that.

    In the end, I’m just hoping His guidance to direct me to an understanding which made me more loved by Him. If what I am thinking is making Him dissapointed, I hope He will give me ways to redefine it.

Thank you for reading. I'd love to hear from you.

