When We Were Young and Free


Tonight I came across this song: Adele’s Hello. The whole lyrics reads like this:

Hello, it’s me, I was wondering
If after all these years you’d like to meet to go over everything
They say that time’s supposed to heal, yeah
But I ain’t done much healing

Hello, can you hear me?
I’m in California dreaming about who we used to be
When we were younger and free
I’ve forgotten how it felt before the world fell at our feet

There’s such a difference between us
And a million miles

I’ve liked some of her other songs before: Someone Like You, Rolling in the Deep …. I like this one too. I like her soulful music, her voice and the way she sings

Like many of her previous songs, Hello also tells about heartbreak and relationship, a theme that easily resonates with a lot of people, I suppose. But it’s not these that inspired me to write this note.

It’s the line that I have chosen as the title of this note, “When we were younger and free.”

How true it is …

Youth is freedom. There is nothing like being young: we have all the zeal we need to pursue our dreams, the freedom to move, the time to explore and try different things without the worries of tomorrow or the burdens of yesterday.

How very unfortunate it is for young people not to realise this. Youth doesn’t last forever. It’s fleeting. Grab it while you can.

3 pemikiran pada “When We Were Young and Free

Thank you for reading. I'd love to hear from you.

