Terra Incognita


Terra incognita – the uncharted land, the unexplored territory, the unkonwn sphere – is a tantalising yet terrifying realm. Given the choice, most of us would rather stay within the familiar domain despite the curiosity we all have from time to time about what it feels like to be on the other side of the fence.

Comfort in knowing what to expect, in recognising the patterns, is everything. We need it and pursue it because we need to secure what little things life has given us against the odds of losing them, against the chances of our own survival.

But every now and then we are forced to leave our comforts behind. Curiosity is a drive. So are, from time to time, unnegotiable circumstances.

Like many, I too would love to stay where I feel comfortable, secure. But if security and comfort mean that I have to restrict my own growth and remain small and a dwarf, I would not let that happen.

Exploring the unknown has its risks, but it’s going to give me lessons I will not otherwise learn, opportunities I will otherwise miss. I will take the challenge, I will.

Thank you for reading. I'd love to hear from you.

